My favorite makeup wearables

DSC07809-001

 Hello my beauties,

Today I’m going to talk all about my favorite makeup wearables from high end to drug store products, linked to their shopping sites, and their reviews.

To me makeup is technically applying several medium to the skin to transform or enhance the appearance of a person.

Face

Prep- To start on with the makeup first of all cleanse, tone and moisturise your face well as you don’t want your skin to be looking flaky anyhow, which I’ve covered in my another blog on Skin Care Routine. I prefer applying ice before the makeup  as it acts like a toner, tightening my pores and reducing puffiness around my eyes in the morning. It also acts to give a fresh faced look like I’ve just walked in the cold, so my cheeks get that red snow kissed look which I love! and then I moisturiser well.

Prime- Priming is done to give a perfect base to the foundation and increase its staying power, to prime my face I use Laura Mercier Foundation primer in  Radiance, I totally love it, though I’ve used other primers like MAC Prep+Prime, didn’t like that as it completely dried out my skin may be it will be beneficial to the one with oily skin. Now coming back to the Laura Mercier Foundation primer in  Radiance which is my favorite, it adds just the right amount of life to my face without looking shiny, a perfect glow. To make it do its  best you may give it some time to set in and then apply the foundation over it.

Foundation – I prefer applying my foundation before the concealer, and as I’ve got good skin, I don’t need to give any full coverage so I prefer getting the foundations with sheer to medium coverage. Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix and in Serum is my HG foundation. It gives an amazing finish, can’t even tell I’m wearing foundation, doesn’t get in my dry flakes, just gives a soft focus effect. Its staying power is very impressive. If you are prone to acne then check out the silicon content of the foundation, as silicon tends to block your pores leading to breakouts. My other favourite foundations are MAC face and body foundation, L’Oreal Infallible 16h foundation, both give a very sheer coverage  to medium coverage and Revlon Colorstay which gives medium to full coverage. Coming to the powder foundations I like MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation you can apply it on it’s own or on top of liquid foundation to get the coverage as you desire. The basic point that needs to be remembered while doing your makeup for your wedding or some photoshoot avoid any makeup product with any SPF content in it as all the makeup products that protects your face from the sun contains SPF and is meant to reflect light. So when a flash fires directly at your face, the result is known as “flashback.” It’s literally your face reflecting the flash back at the camera. It can make you look ghosty, or like you’re wearing a lot of white powder on your face, you all must would have figured what I’m talking about.

Concealers – I’m not much of a concealer user as I don’t have any dark circles or blemishes other than few freckles which I easily hide using Exuviance- CoverBlend Multi- Function concealer, it’s a great concealer, it never creases or looks cakey under eyes and covers darkness well. The other concealers which I would seriously recommend to the one with dark circles and blemishes are Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Treatment Concealer, NYX – HD Photogenic Concealer Wand, MAC studio finish concealer they are great products to hide our under eye problems or any dark circles or blemishes .

Translucent Setting Powder – It’s a must in your makeup collection as you need something to set your makeup in place and give it a more gorgeous look.  Right after you apply the concealer set it with the translucent powder or a makeup setting powder towards the end of your makeup routine to prevent it from creasing. Even apply it right after you are done with rest of the makeup to set it all in. My favourite favourite favourite HG translucent powder is Chanel – Poudre Universelle Libre Natural Finish Loose Powder, it’s like a gem in my collection, it diminishes all the pores and gives your face a nice glow and matte finish, it actually does give that airbrush effect to the whole makeup. At times I apply it on its own to get some glow for my everyday look with some blush on. I’m in love with it.

Blush – I just love blushes. My favorite everyday blush is The Body Shop Lip & Cheek Stain. It works great on my everyday make-up look and on my NC20-25 cheeks this looks great, like just-came-in-from-a-cold-day sheer wash cherry reddish pink, and I only need to apply once to see it. It doesn’t feel sticky after drying and is easy to apply. I tap it in gently with fingers after applying with the wand, usually on my bare skin or after tinted moisturiser/BB cream or a light foundation. If you want a more dramatic look, apply a bit more and slowly build up it up, then set with some translucent powder and Tada!! you get the look!! As a lip stain it looks cute giving that sheer color to your lips, though it doesn’t stay for long. Other powder blushes that I would recommend are NARS Orgasm blush, it is very pigmented and of great quality, color and worth every single penny and almost suits every skin tone, The Body Shop- Baked to Last and other blushes from MAC and NYX. As there are in several shades and textures (liquid, gel, cream and powder) in the market, you can get it all depending on your makeup and color whether you go for pink, coral or peaches.

Contouring – Contouring is done to give shape to an area of the face and enhance the facial structure through makeup.This will make your face look thinner and longer in appearance, providing the illusion of shadow from your cheek bones making your cheeks look more sunken in and also gives definition to your nose. Contouring actually involves adding a powder that is a few shades darker than your actual skin tone (different than a bronzer) to the areas you want to look minimized or further away.  For this I prefer MAC Studio Fix Powder Foundation or any other face powder in two shades darker than my skintone.

Bronzing – I love bronzing as it gives that warmth and healthy glow to the whole face and gives an edge to the cheekbones and kind of sculpts your face. If you are going to purchase a bronzer check that it doesn’t have that orange tint in it. The bronzing powder which I love is Bourjois Delice de Poudre in shade 52 and it gives a lovely light brown glow and not orangey at all.

Highlighting – More than giving skin a soft, luminous finish a great highlighter can perk up your complexion, accentuate the features you love. Highlighter is used to make cheekbones more prominent, refine the nose, and make eyes look luminous. Apply it on center of your forehead lightly brushing it outward in a star pattern, underneath your arches of eyebrows, inner corner of your eyes, cheekbone where light naturally hits the face, bridge of the nose, cupid’s bow area and in middle of your chin in a soft circular motion. There are several highlighting products available in the market ranging from liquid to baked powder form and even you may use white/light pencil liner or eye shadow instead.The highlighters that I would recommend are TheBalm – Mary-Lou Manizer which is one of the best highlighters due to its finish, color, staying power and MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft And Gentle – a baked powder that can be used dry or wet.

Eyes

Primer – Nothing can make your eyeshadow standout other than a wise primer. You can always start with the basic primers then with more expertise indulge into other customised primers. The one which I use is Too Faced Eyeshadow Insurance it’s again my HG product. It makes the eyeshadow stand out and doesn’t let the eyeshadow crease or fade out for hours.

Eyeshadow – The one eyeshadow palette which fulfils all my eyeshadow requirement is Too Faced – Chocolate Bar Palette. It literally wafts the amazing chocolate fragrance up to your nostrils as soon as you open it. It has got 16 eyeshadows made with real cocoa powder.It has got an array of neutrals spanning from traditional browns to pinks and even redder shades like burgundy and purple. The color variety and selection of this palette is wonderful. There are mattes, shimmers, glitters, and satin finishes. Among all the other eyeshadow palettes NAKED and NYX runway collection that I own I always end up using this over and over. You may go for individual colors too ranging from MAC eyeshadows to Maybelline Color Tattoo, all of them have got great pigmentation and texture.

Eyeliner – You can use liquid eyeliner, a liner pencil, Gel eyeliner or even eye shadow on an angled brush to line your eyes. Whatever you pick, move across your upper lash line in tiny, controlled strokes as if you’re drawing a dotted line. Go back and fill in the blanks with more small strokes. For more drama, line your lower lashes as well. When you a getting an eyeliner check for its longevity/ staying power on your eyes and the depth of the color as per your choice and the look that you want to attain.

Eyelashes – To give an edge to your eyes grab a good eyelash curler and curl your lashes. An eyelash curler will make even long lashes look more gorgeous. For added effect, you can heat the curler under a blow dryer for a couple seconds. Test curler before applying to lashes, you don’t want to burn yourself. You can always try false eyelashes to get more of that dramatic look, I love eyelashes from Ardell which are made of human hair which makes them soft and more natural looking. Stick the eyelashes to your lash line using a good glue as DUO eyelash adhesive is my favorite in white.

Mascara – You can apply mascara little or a lot, and there are many different brands and formulas for volume, length and definition. Start at the base of your upper lashes and slowly sweep upward and wiggle back and forth. For a more dramatic effect, apply mascara to the lower lashes as well. I personally keep changing the mascaras trying every new now and then like Maybelline Volume Express Falsies and Maybelline Volum Express Colossal and avoid waterproof mascaras unless or until required. If you have sparse eyelashes or eyebrows apply castor oil eyerynight before you sleep you will see the great results very soon.

Eyebrows – If the eyes are the windows to our soul, then our brows are one of the first things people assess. Try to keep your eyebrows defined, never ever over pluck them. If you have sparse eyebrows or need to give some definition to the eyes, do them using an eyebrow pencil or a eyeshadow with an angled brush. Never use black color for the eyebrow filling. I use taupe or dark brown shade to fill in my eyebrows after the makeup to make my eyebrows stand out. The eyebrow kits that I would recommend is NYX Eyebrow Cake Powder kit, it includes a slanted brush and a spoolie to shape, style and tame eyebrows and MAC Eyebrow pencil.

Lips

When you are selecting a shade for your lips check it on the tips of your fingers rather than your wrists as finger tips color is more close to your lips than the wrists. Whether you chose matte, glossy or shimmery its all your choice. To make your lipstick stay all day long exfoliate the lips with sugar and then with a lip liner start by making an x at the Cupid’s bow, a little U shape on the bottom lip, and arrows at the corner, and then connecting the lines in small strokes and fill entire upper and bottom lip with liner. Actually lip liner is drier than lipstick and will adhere to your lips, which will help the color stay, even if your creamy lipstick formula wears off . Apply the lipstick!!  Take your tissue and pull it apart so you only have 1 ply. Lay it over your lips and apply translucent powder on top of the tissue. This will let a small amount of powder set your lipstick without making it look dry or dulling the color. Carry the lipstick along to do the touchups to make it last all day long.

Finishing Touch

Setting sprays are meant to be the last step in your makeup routine. Apply it on top of your completed look, it will make your  makeup stay in place all day. It is supposed keep your powders, concealers, and even eyeshadows from absorbing into your skin or melting off. The one which I use is MAC Fix+, I love using this on my bare face as well, it has a refreshing feel  it makes me feel like I have a very light lotion on. It acts as a setting spray for your makeup, weather you are using powder, liquid, or both, when you are done you can spritz this a couple times over your makeup and it will set your makeup and make the powder blur into your face giving you that flawless complexion, and keeps  foundation from shifting all day!

I hope this whole talk cleared lots of your doubts as I have not mentioned about the brushes in this blog, which I will cover in my next blog “The Makeup Brush Guide” till then keep experimenting with the makeup and the looks, like it down below and share it among your friends   !!

You can follow me on my Facebook page: Beauty with Pallavi

Thank you so much for reading it !! Love you all.. Mwaah The best makeup a girl can always wear is a Smile.. no makeup can ever beat it!!

7 thoughts on “My favorite makeup wearables

  1. @bidhishachintey ma’am: As far as drug-store eyeshadows are concerned I would recommend you Maybelline Color Tattoo, as they have nice color payoff and stays for a very long duration. To get the color of the shadow more prominent you may apply a white shadow/eyepencil as a base to the shadow to get more color. Eye shadow primer are also great in getting the color more prominent on your eyes and makes the eyeshadow stay for a very long time

    Like

Leave a Reply

